塞浦路斯版权公司 - 最高有效税率:2.5%

对于各种知识产权、专利和商标产生的收入,以及取得和开发这些权利产生的一般资本免税额,在新税制下所得税待遇非常优惠。为简单起见,我们统称以上各项为“知识产权”。

版税利润税收待遇
在制度修改前,任何知识产权带来收入的正常所得税税率为12.5%。根据新制度,80%的版税利润产生的知识产权将免征企业所得税。其余20%的正常企业所得税为12.5%。在确定版税利润时,法律允许从版税收入中全部扣除,而且仅扣除所有版税费用。必须强调的是,税收优惠还包括任何未来IP销售产生的收入。这样知识产权所有人不仅享受权利利用产生的税收优惠,而且还为将来找到一条非常节税的退出途径。知识产权所有人还有权申请海外版权收入所得税退税,但限于海外支付税额和塞浦路斯特定收入税额二者中较低的一个。下面我们举了一个例子供您参考。

取得/开发资本免税额
除了上述之外,在前五年,塞浦路斯公司持有的知识产权能够抵销取得或开发这些权利产生的资本支出。在开始使用资产的那一年和此后使用资产的四个年度,公司的资本免税额高达20%。这些资本免税额当然可以用来抵税,这使得塞浦路斯版权公司享受的第一个五年税收优惠更有吸引力。

总之,适用于塞浦路斯版权公司的有效税率不超过版税利润的2 5%。通过将上述资本免税额用来抵税,有效税率进一步降低。

举例说明

1.版税收入、外国税收要求和资金补贴
2012年,塞浦路斯公司共收到版税收入300,000欧元,其他贸易收入合计200,000欧元。知识产权成本为1,000,000欧元,可在五年内摊销,还有其他与IP相关的费用和利息达50,000欧元。公司已经按照版税收入的5%支付海外代扣代缴所得税共计15,000欧元。税额计算如下:

  欧元
版税收入 300.000
摊销 -200.000
费用和利息 -50.000
版税利润 50.000
减80%的抵税利润 -40.000
版税收入 10.000
增加其他交易收入 200.000
利润 210.000

 

 
按12.5%计算的应纳税款 26.250
减去海外重复纳税 (10k/210K*26.250)* -1.250
应纳税款总额 25.000

*海外支付税额和塞浦路斯特定收入税额二者中较低的一个。

2.知识产权销售和资本免税额
随后在2014年1月1日,公司处置知识产权价值达2,000,000。

计算:

  欧元
销售价格 2.000.000
知识产权成本(帐面金额)  
(100万欧元减去声称的摊销金额40万欧元) -600.000
佣金 -100.000
利润 1.300.000
减80%的抵税利润 -1.040.000
应税利润 260.000

CFA Auditors - Cyprus Audit Tax Advisory © 2017

THE CYPRUS ROYALTY COMPANY - MAXIMUM EFFECTIVE TAX RATE OF 2,5%

The new tax regime provides for favorable tax treatment in relation to income generated from any type of intellectual property rights, patents and trademarks as well as providing for generous capital allowances for acquisition and development of such rights. For simplicity we will refer to them below with the general term of "IP Rights".

Tax Treatment of Royalty Profits

Prior to the amendment, any income from IP Rights was taxed under the normal corporate tax rate of 12,5% on any resulting net profits. According to the new regime, 80% of "Royalty Profit" generated from such IP Rights will be exempt from corporation tax. The remaining 20% will be subject to the normal corporation tax rate of 12,5%. For the purpose of determining the "Royalty Profit" the law allows the deduction from the resulting royalty income of all expenses incurred wholly and exclusively for the production of royalty income. It is important to stress that the favorable tax treatment also covers the profit from any future sale of the IP Right. This will allow the owners of the IP Rights not only to enjoy tax benefits on the income generated from the use of such right but also provides for a tax efficient exit route in the future. The owner of the IP rights can also claimed any tax suffered abroad on the Royalty Income which is limited to the lower of the tax paid abroad or the tax derives in Cyprus on the specific Income. An example is set out below for your easy reference.

Acquisition/ Development Capital Allowances

In addition to the above, the Cyprus Company holding the IP Rights will be able to write off the capital expenditure made on the acquisition or development of such rights in the first five years of use. The company will be able to receive capital allowances of 20% straight line starting from the first year of the use of the asset as well as the subsequent four years of usage. These capital allowances are considered of course tax deductible, which makes the tax benefits of the first five years for the Cyprus Royalty Company even more attractive.

In conclusion, the effective tax rate applicable on the Cyprus Royalty Company will not be higher than a maximum of 2,5% on its Royalty Profits. The effective rate can be further reduced by the deduction of the above capital allowances.

Examples

1. Royalty Income, foreign tax claim and capital allowances
A Cyprus Company receives Royalty Income totaling to €300.000 in 2012, and has also other trading Income totaling to €200.000. The cost of the Intellectual property was €1.000.000 amortized on a 5 year basis, and there are other expenses and interest related to the IP right totaling to €50.000. The Company has paid foreign withholding taxes totaling to 5% (€15.000) on the Royalty Income. Total tax calculated as follows:

  EURO
Royalty Income 300.000
Amortization -200.000
Expenses and interest -50.000
Profit from royalty 50.000
Less 80% deduction on profit -40.000
Revised profit from Royalty 10.000
Add other trading income 200.000
Profit 210.000

 

 
Tax at the rate of 12,5% 26.250
Less double tax paid abroad (10k/210K*26.250)* -1.250
Total Tax payable 25.000

*Lower of taxes paid abroad and corporation tax derived in Cyprus on Royalty income.

2. Sale of Intellectual Property and capital allowances
Following the example above, on 1 January 2014 the Company disposed the Intellectual Property for €2.000.000.

Computation:

  EURO
Sales price 2.000.000
Cost of IP right (carrying amount)  
(€1m less €400k amortization claimed) -600.000
Commissions -100.000
Profit 1.300.000
Less 80% deduction on profit -1.040.000
Profit to be taxed
260.000

CFA Auditors - Cyprus Audit Tax Advisory © 2017